REVIEWS

“A bravely personal essay” that is “extraordinarily touching… ”
Ty Burr’s critic’s pick for Independent Film Festival Boston, Boston Globe, April 22, 2012

“Love and Other Anxieties will touch the hearts of anyone who believes that there is more to love than just fairy-tale endings.”
VoxTalk, October 20, 2012

“Like [Ross] McElwee, [Lyda Kuth] uses the camera… as a mirror on her own life.”
The Cleveland Movie Blog, October 1, 2012

 

PRAISE FROM FESTIVAL PROGRAMMERS and FILMMAKERS

“[LOVE AND OTHER ANXIETIES] was such an interesting and honest documentary that really speaks to the mission of our festival and why we use film to explore our world. I know our audience will truly appreciate it.”
– Kerri Yost, (Co-Director, Citizen Jane Film Festival)

“The audience clearly enjoyed the event and had a lot of provocative questions… I think it helped turn a whole new audience on to our event.”
– Ben Fowlie, (Founder and Director, Camden International Film Festival)

“The film was funny, wise, and beautifully made.”
– Robb Moss (THE SAME RIVER TWICE, SECRECY)

“A beautiful and charming film that examines possibility, discontent, commitment and love.”
– Ed Pincus (DIARIES, AXE IN THE ATTIC)

 

FEATURE STORIES
‘With a personal doc, you’re not telling anyone how they should do something, you’re just revealing how things happen, as honestly as you can.’ Lyda Kuth and the Ripple Effect,” Fandor’s Key Frame, April 16, 2014

‘The most gratifying thing was allowing myself to be creative; to make space in my life for this endeavor,’ [Kuth] says. ‘I had to be in my mid-50s to do it.’ “Independent documentary series to screen monthly in Wellfleet,” Provincetown Banner, November 29, 2012

“[Love and Other Anxieties] takes the trajectory of any creative endeavor: questions, self-doubt, revelations and finally, a kind of acceptance.” “Her Turn: Now Lyda Kuth not only supports films, she directs them, too,” The Boston Globe, October 28, 2012

‘We’re told there’s one story… we fall madly in love with someone at the same time. And, that’s not always how it happens.’
“Noteworthy films previewed for Chagrin Documentary Film Festival,” Currents, September 20, 2012

“The film is intended to be provocative, and perhaps allow people to voice some things that don’t often get voiced.”
“Interview with Lyda Kuth, Director of Love and Other Anxieties,” Good Morning Gloucester, July 19, 2012

“It’s an interesting ‘trading places’ moment for Kuth. After 18-plus years of helping New England filmmakers fund their movies, she finally decided to turn the camera on herself.”
“Indie Film Funder Turns Camera On Herself For First Time,” WBUR, April 29, 2012

“Here is a woman with the courage to examine how she became who she is and ask who she wants to become in the next phase of her life. It is clearly a coming of age story, one unique to her specific life history but with resonance for boomer moms throughout the country.”
“Filmmaking and Other Anxieties: Lyda Kuth’s First Film,” NewEnglandFilm.com, April 2012

 

PRESS & BLOG MENTIONS

“The Grammar of Life at Evergreen,” The Evergreen Mind blog, February 21, 2013

“A Brief Look at Love and Other Anxieties,” Citizen Jane Film Festival blog, October 21, 2012

“Fall Movie Preview,” The Boston Globe, September 9, 2012

Gloucester Daily Times, July 12, 2012

“Love and Other Anxieties’ summer screening schedule” Imagine News, June/July 2012

“Local filmmakers showcased at Independent Film Festival Boston,” Boston Globe, April 22, 2012

“IFFBoston line-up announced,” Boston Globe, March 22, 2012

“Independent Film Festival Boston Sets Lineup,” IndieWire, March 22, 2012

“Camden International Film Fest Screens Great Docs, Because You Can Handle the Truth,” Huffington Post, September 26, 2011